“The Wedding” (One Year Later)

When I first started work on ‘Laura Knows Best,’ I had this idea in mind that each strip would document something funny or absurd that had happened each week as the strip progressed. It was intended to be a comic diary of sorts, without really seeming like a diary. If you re-read some of those first strips, you should be able to get the gist.

Once I started work on what became ‘The Wedding’ storyline, I quickly realized that keeping an up-to-date ‘diary’ was going to be impossible. In a sense, the strip took on a life of its own. However, as I was working through the final strips of ‘The Wedding,’ I knew I wasn’t interested in keeping with the chronology that I’d been following up till this point. In addition, I wanted to maintain a certain degree of flexibility week-to-week should things come up that I wanted to draw right away. Hence the jump forward in time, and as you’ll see in the weeks to come, a return to the format that I had initially envisioned.

I thought it would be a good way to facilitate this shift and to cap off ‘The Wedding’ storyline by establishing where the key players in that story are a year later. This provides the advantage of not having to do a lot of set-up to explain certain events that have happened in the past year, but also gives you some inkling of the stories that might appear in the coming months.

I hope you enjoy the ride!

ITEM! If you’re interested in owning your very own piece of ‘Laura Knows Best’ history, you can now order ‘The Wedding’ mini-comic online from my Etsy shop! Copies are $5 CDN plus shipping. Check out the Ink Spill Press page for more details! (Note that the following chapters are not included: “The Wedding” Part 11, 13 and the interlude. Also not included are “The Rivalry” and “One Last Thing…”).

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on ““The Wedding” (One Year Later)

  1. Julia says:

    Hahaha love it Brett!!! Cody is thrilled he made the cut. I especially love yours and Laura’s parts.

Leave a Reply

